PPC ADVERTISING - SEM - SMM - TRAFFIC GENERATION
AUDIENCE ACQUISITION - CUSTOMER CONVERSION

 360 Degrees Approach to Online Advertising

The example below shows how a High Quality Score can result in a higher ad rank.

The Situation:

  • Advertiser 1 has a high budget and is willing to pay up to $3.00 when users click on his ads. However, he has a poor landing page, irrelevant keywords, and a very low clickthrough rate (CTR). His Quality Score is 2.
  • Advertiser 2 has a low budget and is willing to pay up to $1.00 when users click on his ads. However, he has a transparent landing page that's easy to navigate, highly relevant keywords and ad text, a high clickthrough rate, and strong account history. His Quality Score is 9.
  • Advertiser 3 has a medium budget and is willing to pay up to $2.00 when users click on his ads. He has an average website and some relevant keywords, but his advertising still has a lot of room for improvement. His Quality Score is 4.

Max. CPC
Quality Score
Auction Bid

Ad Rank

Advertiser 1 $2.00 x 5 = 10

2

Advertiser 2 $1.00 x 7 = 7

3

Advertiser 3 $3.00 x 4 = 12

1

The Results:

Advertiser 2 is willing to pay the least amount of money per click, but he also has the highest Quality Score. His auction bid is 9, which is the highest bid in the auction. Even though Advertiser 2 has the lowest maximum CPC, his ad is ranked in the first position.

Advertiser 1 is willing to pay the most amount of money per click, but he also has the lowest Quality Score. His auction bid is 6, which is the lowest bid in the auction. Therefore, Advertiser 1's ad is ranked in the last position, even though he has the highest maximum CPC.

This example shows just how much your Quality Score can impact your overall ad rank.